Setting the Mood (for Writing)


Procrastination is the writer’s biggest sin. You’ve heard all the excuses: I don’t have the time. I’ll write when I’m inspired. I’ll get around to it–soon. I’m not in the mood.

You get it. The whole banana. I’ve heard all those. Some of them I even said myself.

And so, finally, after your publisher calls for the nth time and your agent has given up on you, you sit down and start writing. You stare at your screen for a minute. Then an hour. Then five hours. Nothing. You’re not in the mood. End of story.

Unfortunately, that would also mean the end of your writing career. Surely you don’t want that?

The most difficult thing to be is when you’re starting to write, whether it be a novel, a feature, a short story, even just a post. It’s just too difficult to get started, period.

Each writer has his or her own way of setting the mood for writing. I find that, especially when I’m doing some writing at home, I can’t start if I’m not feeling comfortable. So usually a quick shower does the trick. I get into comfy clothes (not PJs, because my mind will think only of sleeping and not writing). Then I make coffee and put on some good music. I usually turn off my IM so I could focus without being disturbed.

And yes, I also have a mantra: If I don’t finish this, I’m toast.

That does it for me. How about you? How do you set the mood?

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

Leave a Reply

