Shameless Plug: Runaway


My first book is coming out in two weeks, I was told today. Runaway, a chick lit, isrunaway-copy.jpg produced by Manila-based Psicom Publishing.

The novel is about a girl who moves to a different city to forget an old love, eventually finding a new one who also moves away. Should she leave the city to forget, or should she stay and go on with her life? It’s a case of finding love at the wrong time. “Your timing is really off,” one of the characters says. Sounds familiar?

The title, obviously, was inspired by the Corrs’ song “Runaway,” which was my anthem when I was fresh out of college eight years ago and very restless. I was initially wary of using my real name because I wanted my first work to be something really serious.

Fictionist Nikki Alfar, who has won two Carlos Palanca Awards for Literature for a one-act play and a short story for children, really inspired me when she said, “Just because we put the word ‘chick’ in front of the phrase doesn’t mean it ain’t literature, baby.”

So there. I hope you get a copy for yourselves when it hits the bookstores. Enjoy!

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Reluctant (Chick Lit) Author « Write Sense - February 13, 2008

Leave a Reply

