I Love Monday Mornings


sunflower.jpg

I love Monday mornings.  I love how my Mondays are so stress-free.

I love waking up on Monday mornings and not having to rush to work. I love how I can walk about idly in the kitchen, heat water for my coffee, cook bacon and fried rice, and eat leisurely, not worrying that I’ll be late for work (because work is still at midnight!).

I love Monday mornings. I love writing during Monday mornings. I love staying home to write during Mondays. I can take an hour clearing up the clutter on my desk before I start to write, and I don’t have this guilty feeling of being idle because this is the only day I get to relax.

Mondays are the only days in the week that I stay at home (but I leave at 11 p.m. for work), and I love the feeling of being able to stay in the house and not get bored: There are blogs to write for, a manuscript to edit, and a novel to complete. I don’t have the excuse to say, “I’m bored.”

I love how my Mondays are different from other people’s Mondays. Sometimes when I’m in the mood for some fast-food breakfast, I go to Jollibee and watch the children hurry off to school with their nannies and parents. I sip my coffee leisurely while reading the arts-and-culture section on Philippine Star (digesting Butch Dalisay’s column slowly). I watch office workers running to catch the FX or the bus, and I am thankful that I do not have to beat myself to go to work on a Monday morning.

I have every excuse to stay in bed till noon on a Monday morning, yet I don’t because I am excited to sink my teeth into all the pending writing work of the last two weeks.

I guess my Mondays never let me down.

What’s your favorite day of the week?

Photo credit: Henkster

Tags: , , ,

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

Leave a Reply

