How to Win the UP Gawad Likhaan (or Any Other Literary Prize)


Filipino literary critic and Palanca awardee Isagani Cruz dishes out some fast tips on how to win the UP Gawad Likhaan, the state university’s centennial literary contest.

A whopping P200,000 is up for grabs for the winner of each category.

Watch your grammar, Cruz says, and go by the rules. You can never go wrong if you do.

Read the rest of the full-length article here.

Tags: , ,

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

10 responses to “How to Win the UP Gawad Likhaan (or Any Other Literary Prize)”

  1. pz says :

    i would like to submit my own work, but i’m not from a very well known university and never been to any writing workshops… its just my nature to write my own expressions and pay tribute on something… can i ask for more informations or assistance regarding this literary contest…. thank you!

  2. Karla says :

    Hi, PZ, and thanks for coming over.
    I think submitting your own work is the bravest thing you can do as a writer. One has to start somewhere, right?
    Talent is talent, regardless of where one graduates from, or whether one has joined any writing workshops (I haven’t–okay, that’s a confession, because I’m not brave enough to go that way), and not all the best writers come from well-known universities.
    Regarding the Gawad Likhaan, your work can be in Filipino or English, and must be an original and book-length piece for a novel or short story collection, poetry collection, or creative nonfiction.
    Here are the contest rules:
    http://www.upd.edu.ph/~icw/gawadlikhaan/index.htm

    Deadline is March 31, 2008, 5 p.m. You still have a month to go. Make the most of it, and all the best to you!

  3. pz says :

    Well, sounds progressive to me. Actually, I’m not that brave enough to confide with everyone about my own creation… I guess its up to me now. Yes, still a month to go, and I think it would be wise if I would review my manuscripts and make it more presentable… Thanks Ate!!

  4. vivian dionisio says :

    Magkakaron po ba ulit ng UP Gawad Likhaan writing contest next year, sa 2009? tnx.

  5. Karla says :

    Hi, Vivian,
    So sorry for the late reply. I don’t think there will be another Gawad Likhaan, as this was launched in time with the UP centennial, which is this year. I could be wrong, but I’ll ask around. 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by.

  6. segtorr says :

    Are there results yet? When are they going to announce the winners? Thanks.

  7. segtorr says :

    Are there results yet? When are they going to announce the winners? Thanks a lot!

  8. frugifer says :

    kelan po labas ng results? salamat po.

  9. glesy the great says :

    talaga? uhmmm… my writing style is not very particular to grammar… kahit in filipino ang entry ko, di ako talaga sumusunod sa grammar rules… this is my first time, siguro achievement na rin sakin ang magpass ng entry pero siyempre it would be nice if i bring home the bacon….

    sa estimate nyo po, mga ilan ang sasali? cheers;p

  10. glesy the great says :

    meron pa po pala akong tanong… pinasa ko lang yung entry ko sa likhaanjournal@gmail.com together with my biographical sketch… yun lang po yung pinasa ko… may kulang pa po ba ako.. kahit alam kong late na kasi tapos na yung submssion of entry…

Leave a Reply

