Missing Writer


Yes, I’ve been missing, but for a good cause. The last couple of months have been busy, busy, busy.

Let me say that again. B-U-S-Y.

It’s the kind of busy that sees me plopping into bed when I get home and tinkering with the latest time-management game, which puts me to sleep. I complained to K, a fellow writer, that I hardly have time to write these days because work is absorbing all my energy, and at the end of the day, I fall asleep in front of WordPress.

Lately I’ve been thinking about real writing and how I miss it. By real writing, I don’t mean SEO writing or Web content writing or blogging or copywriting, which is what I do at work. But one has to do all this professional writing to make money, because there’s no money in book writing. There’s no money in writing about the arts. As much as I want to write about the things I love, the things that stir the soul, the things that make us all feel alive, at the end of the day I need to bring home a paycheck.

And it’s just sad how this has become.

I told N the other day that I wish I had that love back, that same brand of energy I had many years ago when we started this other site. Maybe, like most love affairs, it was a case of “too much, too soon,” and I had wrung out my energy, because one’s enthusiasm can dampen when one has to think about bills at the end of the month.

Okay, enough of the ranting.

I’m proud to say that while I haven’t been doing some real writing, I (well, my company) did get an award from an e-mail marketing site for best performance. Ain’t that swell? At least I can add that to my CV one day.

Also, finally, after two long years of being with the company, we’re finally overhauling the shamefully bad copy and rewriting them. My Chicago Manual is happy to be of use again, I can sense it. KC, whom I hired as a freelancer to help us out in rewriting the copy for all the product descriptions, expressed glee that finally, what we had been wanting to do back then, when we first joined the firm, is finally falling into place. It’s a landmark in itself:  a company that never really cared about good content on its Website, finally getting a facelift. I’m energized enough just thinking about it and knowing that all is not lost. What I learned back at Xlibris and Global Sources and with good old Joan Orendain isn’t lost. Content is king!

Tags:

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

Leave a Reply

