Writers/Editors and Love


Because it’s the month of love, I thought of all the little things that writers and editors like me love.

Writers and editors love a good book, especially something they haven’t read before. I always like to be surprised, so I enjoy receiving books by authors I haven’t read or heard of.

They love a good cup of coffee to start off their writing task. Nothing beats the strong kick of caffeine in the morning. I haven’t met an editor/writer who didn’t love her coffee.

Writers and editors love (and keep) long letters and cards because they know the effort that goes into crafting a note. A new friend N tells me she keeps all the holiday gift cards that come with personal notes. (I do too.)

Writers and editors love a good writing or editing challenge. As an editor, I love the thrill of seeing a raw manuscript and improving it so the rest of the world can enjoy it.

Writers and editors love fine-point pens, newly sharpened pencils, and good, smooth paper. The safest gift, next to a book, you can give a writer or an editor is a good notebook.

Writers and editors love silence.

What about you? What do you love?

Thanks to rknds

Tags: , ,

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

2 responses to “Writers/Editors and Love”

  1. Lua says :

    what a great -and so accurate- list you have made! 🙂
    Good books and coffee are my two true loves!
    I also love that exquisite feeling of finishing a project I’ve been working on for some time. No feeling like it! 🙂

  2. Karla says :

    Thanks for dropping by, Lua.

    Yes, finishing a project too–there’s a different kind of high that comes with it.

    And yes, getting the cheque for a job well done! Don’t you just love that feeling?

Leave a Reply

