It’s Payback Time


It is 1 a.m. on a Monday and I am stuck writing a piece for an oral reading competition.

I promised myself six months ago that I would end this habit of writing at 1 am. The idea gets me constipated.

No, I am not getting paid to do it. Call it “happily paying one’s dues.” The piece is for my favorite high-school teacher Ms. Sato, who is competing this week. She e-mailed me several days ago asking if I could write a 5- to 7-minute piece for her. “It’s for your alumni, dear,” she said. How could I refuse such a plea?

So here I am, on my second leg of rewriting. I spent all afternoon Saturday sitting in front of my laptop thinking of what to write. (Please, don’t tell me, “You’ve been writing for a decade now! How can you not get that piece right?”)

These are one of those days when I tell myself, gently, “Darling, put away your laptop and find a different career. You’re a bad writer.”

Tags: , ,

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

Leave a Reply

