Salman Rushdie on the Satanic Verses


Image

Rushdie with friends who supported him during the fatwa. L-R: agent Caroline Michel, writer and editor Gerald Marzorati, novelist Ian McEwan, the BBC’s Alan Yentob, Salman Rushdie, and his sister Sameen, a retired lawyer. Photo by Annie Leibovitz

Author Salman Rushdie talks to Vanity Fair about the Satanic Verses:

I thought of the novel as a huge monster I was wrestling with. I was often worried that I would not be able to get on top of the beast and pin it to the ground. [When it was done,] I was utterly exhausted. One holds so much of a novel in one’s head during the years of work that when it’s done and the thing in your head evaporates it’s a little like having your brain removed. I felt lobotomized.

Read the full-length article on Vanity Fair.

Tags: , ,

About Karla

I am an e-mail marketer, editor, and writer. My passions are yoga, food, and Filipino arts and culture.

2 responses to “Salman Rushdie on the Satanic Verses”

  1. chesca says :

    so this is where you are!!! I’ve wondered how you’ve been.
    great to see you are well.

  2. Karla says :

    Chesca! So good to bump into you online! 🙂 Real life interfered with my blogging life! But I still update this page from time to time:
    http://singlebrownmom.blogspot.com/
    You’re looking good! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

